A Storm, The Holidays, And The Mentally Ill

This is something that, as a Christian, I really don’t think about nearly enough. Once I get my life in order I hope I can start focusing on volunteering more. It’s scary to think that if I hadn’t been so blessed with such an amazing family, I could very well be on the streets, myself. So many of these homeless people have just been given unfortunate and overwhelming circumstances and battles in life and they don’t know how to cope. I hope they can get help soon, especially with winter fast approaching.

A Journey with You

Storms terrify me, and we had a big storm in Southern California yesterday. The wind was rattling all of our sliding glass windows (we live in an old condo, on the third floor, and the sliding glass doors are very loose and in need of weatherizing). The rain was coming down so hard it sounded like someone had turned on a very loud shower. The thunder would occasionally boom and rumble. I curled up in bed and in a pathetic attempt to drown out the sounds of the first winter storm, I turned on a fan.

As I was wrapped up in the covers of my bed, I thought about the people, over ten thousand of them, living on the streets, some within walking distance of where I was warm and dry. Many of the people without a roof over their head last night are mentally ill. I tried to…

View original post 506 more words

Type your own words here!

