A Word On My Rants

I quote from my “About Me” page:

Anyway, what I’m trying to say is I don’t want to make a scene, but at the same time that’s the whole reason I set up this site. I have so many ideas rumbling around in my head everyday, too many opinions, and I just need someone else to hear them. I don’t expect Internet fame. I’m just looking for a few, invisible readers to see my words, take them in, and do what they will with them….In reality I try to love and respect all people. On this blog I will probably occasionally be a judgmental bitch….I will probably annoy and/or offend at least one person during the lifetime of this blog. I am not interested in fighting. Don’t let any negativity on this blog ruin your life.”

I’m a person. I have opinions and emotions, just like any other person. This blog is my corner of the Web to freely express those opinions and emotions. You do not have to like what I write. You do not have to agree with what I write. I am not even asking you to read my rants. I just ask that you respect my right to write (ha) and do not let my rants ruin your entire existence.

As for the disclaimers before the rants (and everywhere else on this blog): Yes, they are completely necessary. I am a lot of things. Roman Catholic, American, a girl, a mouse, etc.. Which means that there are a lot of misinformed people out there who hate me just because of my religion, or where I live, or what gender I am, or because I’m a mouse, etc.. There are also a lot of people who have these things in common with me. And since there are a lot of people like me, there are that many more opportunities for one of us to screw up and ruin things for everyone else. I have no desire to be that person. And because there are so many idiots online who will see one hateful thing that one Me has done/said/written and apply that to the whole entire Everyone Else, I felt it was necessary to write the disclaimer before each rant, and on my About Me page. It was mostly done out of jest. But there will probably be that one person who comes along, sees one of my rants, and wants to hate all Catholics, or Americans, or women, or mice, etc., because of that one thing I wrote in a state of hurt and anger. So I put the disclaimer there, so they can’t go around spreading the word about how evil Catholics are (or Americans are, or women are, or mice are…), because I specifically wrote “my views do reflect Everyone Else’s”. They may not believe the disclaimer or they might just flat out ignore it, but hopefully anyone they show my words to (and anyone with a brain and a heart who reads my words) will see the disclaimer and realize they’re an idiot for hating all Catholics, Americans, women, mice, etc. because of one rant.

And, as I said in the disclaimer and in this post, my rants are just that: rants. An exaggerated mess of incoherent words written in a time of rage. While the rants most certainly could contain the exact thoughts and opinions I hold at all times, more likely than not they are just a bunch of meaningless letters my fingers typed furiously in the middle of the night after I brooded over something the entire day (or longer).

Of course, you have every right to be offended, but…I did warn you not to read the rant in the disclaimer. 🙂

One thought on “A Word On My Rants

Type your own words here!

